International Symposium on Quality Electronic Design (ISQED)

About ISQED Quality Award

The ISQED Quality Award, dubbed the IQ-Award was established in 2007 to recognize individuals who have made significant and often lasting contributions to the field of quality in electronic design. The award recipients will be selected from a pool of qualified candidates from various disciplines encompassing the field of electronic design such as: electronic devices, circuit and system design, CAD, design automation, semiconductor technology, IC packaging, test, and management/leadership which fosters the spirit of quality by instilling and promoting quality in electronic design. The IQ-Award is sponsored by Mentor Graphics.

Recipients of ISQED Quality Award (IQ-Award)


Dr. R. Fabian W. Pease
William Ayer Professor (Emeritus) of Electrical Engineering
Stanford University
Citation: For contributions to high resolution patterning and scanning electron microscopy, and for teaching and education of leaders in micro and nanoelectronics over several decades. (Press Release)


Dr. Leon O. Chua
Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences Department
University of California, Berkeley
Citation: For pioneering research on nonlinear circuits and systems, chaos theory and Chua’s circuits, memristor theory that led to invention of nanoscale memristors that opened new fields and invigorated RRAM and novel system concepts, inspirational teaching and education of outstanding leaders in micro and nanoelectronics fields, sustained over several decades. (Press Release)


Prof. Robert W. Dutton
Robert and Barbara Kleist Professor of Engineering and Director of the Integrated Circuits Laboratory
Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
Citation: Pioneering Contributions to the Introduction of Practical Computer Simulation into the Design and Manufacturing Process of Semiconductor Devices (Photo)

Dr. Stan Williams
Senior HP Fellow
Director, Quantum Science Research
Hewlett-Packard Laboratories
Citation: Pioneering Contributions to the Development of Memreistors and Nanoscale Electronic devices and Architectures (photo)


Dr. Sung-Mo (Steve) Kang
UC Merced, Chancellor and Professor of Engineering
Citation: For leadership in promotion of academic excellence and innovation in electrical and computer engineering education

Dr. Resve Saleh
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of British Columbia
Co-Founder and former Chairman of Simplex Solutions
Citation: For pioneering work and contributions toward the development of IR drop analysis in power distribution networks now used throughout the industry to improve the quality of integrated circuit designs